New -- Making Europa My Home

I'm brand new to UO, but from reading other posts it sounds like the shard that suits my playing preferences best.

So my questions are:

• How friendly/helpful are the other players towards newbies?
  • Are there any RP guilds that would take a player such as myself*?
  • Are there any race/class combos I should avoid so as not to make it difficult to join most RP guilds? (i.e. I saw the undead and vampire faces in chargen -- So would playing one make things difficult?)

* While I am brand new to UO, I am not new to MMOs or role-playing within them. Ideally I would love to join an active RP guild who are friendly and patient folks who won't mind the occasional (Or frequent) newbie question.

Thanks in advance!

Since I don't have to be Mr Impartial Lead Moderator, now that you're outright asking about guilds....

....Vesper is recruiting! We accept any and all*!

*Vampires, Drow, and any 'evil' races are not permitted. Necromancy is banned within the city limits.

Check the Recruitment forum in the Europa Guilds section of UOF.

• How friendly/helpful are the other players towards newbies?
  • Are there any RP guilds that would take a player such as myself*?
  • Are there any race/class combos I should avoid so as not to make it difficult to join most RP guilds?

1) Impossible to say. Some people will be more open than others.

2) You'll find most people sympathetic, I should think. Provided you aren't dropping OOC every five minutes to ask how to use bandages or open doors, you'll be fine just about anywhere.

3) That's wholely down to the guilds you join. But don't fall into the trap of thinking Duchy of Trinsic = Open to Everything, or Guardsmen Militia = Obssessively Picky. Just about every guild has it's restrictions, and all have room for creativity. So long as it isn't too far fetched you should be fine just about everywhere.

What kind of enviroment would you be looking to roleplay in?