UOForums Interviews Josh Kriegshauser (Aka Speedman) from Everquest!

Speedman/Josh was kind enough to agree to do an interview with us

Here's the questions we asked him and the answers he gave.

[Generic questions]

What has been your most memorable accomplishment in your career?

Making Technical Director before 30? J Getting hired by Origin is probably the most memorable accomplishment as it was my first gig in the game industry. It was an amazing experience: I got to meet and work with the people behind the names on the forum that I idolized. The whole experience was surreal.

What was your favorite part of UO?

The memories. I started playing when the game came out in ’97 and immediately loved the experience, even though it was painful at times to see thieves steal my ore or die to a PK yet again. The risk made the reward worthwhile and the time investment required made things like getting your first boat that much more amazing.

Are you a crafter/pvp'r/role player when you do game?

I love to roleplay in-game and enjoyed (in my later years) being a member of an awesome RP guild on Pacific. However, I’m an alt-a-holic, so I had a full crafter and several character to try out many different skills. And a red, but he didn’t come out to play very often.

What games - either out or coming attractions - currently catch your eye?

On the MMO scene, Star Trek Online, DC Universe Online, Free Realms to name a few (and maybe a few unannounced ones that I can’t talk about yet). For console games, I’m a HUGE Guitar Hero/Rock Band fanboy. I’ve also really enjoyed playing Braid, Assassin’s Creed and the Prince of Persia series.

What was your first project in the gaming industry, and how did you get it?