UOForums Interviews TheGrimmOmen, again (September 9th, 2008)

TheGrimmOmen, the evilist of all UO team members has graced (or is that cursed? :P) us with a fantastic interview.

Here's our interview with TheGrimmOmen

1) I've never really liked the way torpedo dragons (swamp dragons) look in 2d, but I do like how they look in KR. Any chance 2d Swampies could get a makeover?

I’ve never cared for the swampies look either, I mean, 6 legs? But in any case, there’s actually an old “rule of thumb” where changing artwork in UO is concerned and that is: “If it’s been in the game longer than 6 months, it’s (for the most part) too late to change it.” So given the high likelihood that hordes of angry villagers would most likely show up to have me drawn and quartered for changing their beloved swampies, no. By the way – have you seen the new swampies in UOKR? ;-)

2) Did you go to school to become an artist or are you self taught natural talent? And can you tell us about the process?

I’ve wanted to be an artist since I was very young (dinosaurs were totally my thing back then). Given that I grew up in very, very, rural Arkansas, I might as well have said that I wanted to be an astronaut! Wanting to be an artist in that neck of the woods was pretty much guaranteeing a life of frustration and disappointments! But regardless, art I loved and art I did – often to the detriment of my schoolwork. In junior high and high school I did a weekly comic for my friends – many of which included them in it! I also won a couple of awards in high school art contests, so I apparently had some skill . Come to think of it, I remember getting reprimanded by my art teacher regularly for doing fantasy and sci-fi art -- even got told that I would never be able to make a living do that sort of stuff. I still think of her every time I do concept art for creatures…