Should Food play an inportant role in UO?

I started playing UO in 2005, so I do not exactly know what went on before.

However I hear that food used to be important in playing the game.

Nowadays, apart from the “magical food”, having a meal is just part of “role playing”.

You can go up to the “Player Cook” and compliment about the cuisine it offered or complain about it being overcooked or being too salty.

There is a saying that “You cannot fight with an empty stomach”, and I think this should apply also in UO.

I would not go as far as promoting a system where your character dies of starvation if it is left without food for a certain period of time, but some kind of penalty such as stamina drain would make the game more fun.

Then we can go more details in the properties of food, such as high quality food replenishing more stamina than normal quality food. There could be also new foods which can keep the player functioning for a longer time period. Items which can produce food will also be cherished.

With food as an important “expendable supply” back in demand, cooking will become an important skill.

Back in the day, food did play an important part in UO. If you fizzled too much while spell casting, you'd often get admonished, "Have you eaten?" Even to this day, if you find yourself fizzling with spellcasting too much you will often find someone suggesting you go eat. What is more, who is to say their advice is wrong. The UO code has passed through so many different dev teams and dev team members, who is to say eating still does not play a forgotten role in what goes on in our game. I personally supersticiously eat. It is so easy with LRC suits and create food and my chefs need someone to cook for while they are training. Having said that, I'd like to see cooking improved to where it is much more mainstream rather than just high end perks. After all, keeping yourself fed is the single most driving factor in every different society.