I have been thinking about starting a new guild on the atlantic shard. I have been playing UO for 21 months. I already have 2 rlf that are going to start it with me. Before I actualy start the guild I would like to get some information about starting guilds. How should I set up a recruitment process, what should I look for, and how to grow a postive guild that reflects my believes in UO. I don't like starting something that fails. Just looking for help and some information.

Hi Merc,

Phew! Where to start? =)

Before you start recruiting, the three of you should really talk about what you'd like to accomplish with a guild. So the three of you are all on the same page and have the same goals. Always remain flexible, but always have a direction... a goal. Even if that goal is to be a dozen or so casual players; 50 RP'ing, restless orcs upsetting the local villagers just for fun; or a zerging, 400 member, champ & shard control guild. Know what you guys have in mind, then plan from there.

FYI: The Syndicate's book... Legend of the Syndicate, is a great book for guildmasters.

The bigger the guild, the more people you have to play with... but also the more work that goes into running the guild. If you can share the workload, the better for the GM... GM's burnout like light bulbs. They burn white hot when their brand new, and then *poof*... they're gone. Help each other out as you grow.

Create a little site, maybe a forum... UOForums here is a great option for a guild forum. :) On the other hand, don't ever... never... use GuildPortal or ProBoards (you can't take your posts with you if you leave); and the UOF Brute Squad (Adam, Maddux, Snuggs, Solidchrome and some big, hairy guy named Dip Fezzik Corleone... he is the brute squad!) would have to "fix" things. =)