Jump to content

The Oracle

Members
  • Content Count

    1,637
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    8

Everything posted by The Oracle

  1. We hope that all of you have had a most joyous and festive holiday season thus far! As 2016 draws to a close, we wish to share our most heartfelt gratitude to each and every one of you for your generous support, and even more so, for the profound sense of belongingness that this remarkable community fosters in us all. There is no greater value than being able to share this extraordinary journey with you. The entire Shroud of the Avatar Development team wish you the Happiest of New Years! Only 3 Days Left to Get Your 10% Holiday Bonus! This is the final weekend to get your 10% Holiday Bonus
  2. All game servers will be down for maintenance beginning Wednesday, December 28, 2016 at 5:00am PST / 7:00am CST / 8:00am EST / 1300 GMT and ending at approximately 5:55am PST / 7:55am CST / 8:55am EST / 1355 GMT. Estimated downtime... View the full article
  3. We would like to wish everyone a very merry Christmas. On behalf of all knuckleheads View the full article
  4. Greetings Fellow Avatars! Here’s what we have for you in this week’s edition of Update of the Avatar: Q1 2017 Schedule UpdateThe Making of BrooksidePerennial Coast Improvements (Solania Polish)The Making of Blood BayRelease 37.5: Water Houses, Shogun Houses, Shogun Wearables, New Emotes, etc.MMORPG Column: A New Hope (Q4 Review, Q1 Preview)MMOGames: Shroud Nominated for Best Crowdfunded Online Game of 2016Floral Meadow POT Template (aka Grasslands 01a)Testing Incentives Program UpdateStarr Long: History & Methods LectureCommunity of the Avatar Livestream – Heatmaps and Vyrin & Womby’s
  5. Greetings All, Due to a crash that occurred on Lake Superior at 12 pm 12/23/2016 we have had to revert the shard to a 3 am backup. This crash occurred due to a corrupted item on the shard which has now been deleted. Thank you for your patience while we resolved this issue. UO Team View the full article
  6. Sing along with us! The contest is simple and fun – for the next two weeks, from December 20, 2016 to January 3, 2017, we want to see what songs, poems, and other holiday stories you can come up with that are related to Shroud of the Avatar. Can include videos too if you like! When you have something you wish to submit to the contest, post it in This Thread! You are allowed to edit your submission up until the end of the contest on January 3, 2017. THEMES Similar to the house decorating contest, we will be judging entries based on the following themes: Most inventive…Romantic themeHoliday them
  7. All game servers will be down for maintenance beginning Wednesday, December 21, 2016 at 5:00am PST / 7:00am CST / 8:00am EST / 1300 GMT and ending at approximately 5:55am PST / 7:55am CST / 8:55am EST / 1355 GMT. Estimated downtime... View the full article
  8. Greetings Fellow Avatars! Here’s what we have for you in this week’s edition of Update of the Avatar: Play Release 37 Now!17 Days Left for 10% Holiday Bonus!Xenos PolishThe Making of Vauban PassThe Making of Blood BayRichard Garriott on Exploding DiceR36 Lot Deed Raffle WinnersCommunity of the Avatar Livestream – Clockwork Monkeys Strike!Hangout of the Avatar ~ Release 37 Postmortem: Next WeekMore Obsidian Bundles and Add-On Store Goodies!Community Spotlight: Numinous Gleann – Player Owned TownUpcoming EventsCommunity Holiday Party at Portalarium!Community Resources – Players Helping PlayersRe
  9. Yesterday we had the drawing for our latest Lot Deed Raffle and awarded 170 lot deeds to lucky winners whom are being announced today. There were two raffles, one for each lot type: Place Anywhere Deeds: 20 TotalRow: 10Village: 6Town: 3City: 1Player Owned Town Deeds: 150 TotalRow: 80Village: 40Town: 20City: 10Raffle tickets grant the holder a chance to win deeds of any size (Row, Village, Town, or City). Raffles will be held monthly (total deed numbers will vary each month). Place-Anywhere Deed raffle tickets are more expensive but will have fewer deeds in each raffle than POT raffle tickets,
  10. In order to allow us to better plan for the renewal of enticing Hero Coin rewards, as well reduce player confusion and frustration caused by the erasing of your accumulated Hero Coins, we’re doing away with the annual resets... View the full article
  11. Welcome to Release 37, Avatars! Normally our release cycle lasts approximately four weeks, giving us 3 weeks of development time and 1 week of polish before the release goes live on the last Thursday of the month. However, November and December each have holidays that require us to do our release earlier in those months. That only gives us 2 weeks of development time and 1 week of polish before we release. Despite that brevity and our focus on performance, we still managed to deliver a lot of new content. Performance: It has been far too many releases since we focused on issues related to perf
  12. Greetings all, We want to start off by saying that we appreciate all your patience and feedback as we work through the combat updates on Test Center. This process has been different than our normal testing cycle and we appreciate all who have participated. These changes will not be deployed World Wide for quite some time and are subject to change. We have used this process to gauge player suggestions and iterate quickly on those ideas. Some ideas have been well received while others have not. We would like to let you where we currently stand in the process. Removing the […] View the full ar
  13. Today’s community spotlight explores the metropolis of Numinous Gleann. Adjoined to Ardoris, the city of Love in the South, you will discover that Numinous Glenn is but a nice weekend trip from many other nearby towns. We are touring all kinds of towns and talking with guilds and other groups throughout this spotlight series, brought to you by Berek, your community wood elf druid. Entering from the main bridge, I saw the prominent Statues of the Virtues guarding the town center. Just beyond the statues was a farm of greenhouses for as far as the eye could see. Already in awe of the great sight
  14. Greetings All, We have updated TC1 based on the latest player feedback as of today 12/14/2016. These changes are currently active on TC1. These will not be deployed World Wide for quite some time and are subject to change. We wanted to give everyone interested a time to provide feedback, so head on over to TC1 and check them out! Here are a few of the updates: Weapon swing speed is now capped at 40% of base swing speed or 1.25 seconds, whichever is higher. Focus Spec no longer modifies the SDI cap Doom Upgrade artifacts available You can read all […] View the full article
  15. [From a forum post by Starr “Darkstarr” Long] Avatars, Please read this entire message, as well as the linked instructions and known issues. Thank you for being a loyal backer and follower of Shroud of the Avatar. Release 37 access for all Early Access backers begins this Thursday, December 15, at 10:30 AM US Central Standard Time (15:30 UTC). Performance: It has been far too many releases since we focused on issues related to performance, so we made the hard decision to push out some work on features in order to focus most of our programming team on performance. We have made a wide swath of
  16. Holiday Server Settings | L2 Store Items | Additional Store Info | New Items | Gift Box Random Rewards For a limited time, Freya returns with shopping bags full of powerful items and boosts! These items will be available for purchase on the L2 Store until... View the full article
  17. All game servers will be down for maintenance beginning Wednesday, December 14, 2016 at 4:00am PST / 6:00am CST / 7:00am EST / 1200 GMT and ending at approximately 7:25am PST / 9:25am CST / 10:25am EST / 1525 GMT. Estimated downtime... View the full article
  18. Greetings All, We have updated TC1 based on the latest player feedback as of today 12/13/2016. These changes are currently active on TC1. These will not be deployed World Wide for quite some time and are subject to change. We wanted to give everyone interested a time to provide feedback, so head on over to TC1 and check them out! Here are a few of the updates: Increased the SDI cap for non-focus spec templates. Focus Spec rework. Splintering weapon proc no longer triggers when performing Disarm. Supernova potions now activate after a one second delay at the use location. You […] View the f
  19. The Making of Blood Bay Blood Bay is going to be an Open PVP area with two NPC towns, player housing, adventuring areas, and entrances to underground adventure areas. It is going to be a testing ground for several systems that will, in turn, propagate to other parts of the game if successful. We hope to have a first iteration of this map live in Release 38. We showed the scene during the Telethon and talked more about how we hope to have certain systems working. This is the third update we have posted so far on this map. [A Dev+ Forum Post by Travis “Vas Corp Por” Koleski] Blood Bay continued
  20. Join us Tuesday, December 20th at 3:00 PM Central (21:00 UTC) for our monthly Hangout of the Avatar! The team will be chatting about the upcoming Release 37, the recent holiday events, and looking ahead to what’s going on in the next year! As always, we will be giving out rare Lord British artifacts of immense power and glory, and answering your latest questions. For a chance to win an artifact, or to speak your voice on the latest game changes, be in Discord chat during the livestream. There will be multiple chances to win throughout the broadcast! Submit Your Questions! Once you get a
  21. Greetings Fellow Avatars! Here’s what we have for you in this week’s edition of Update of the Avatar: Ardoris PolishThe Making of Blood BayNew Obsidian BundlesCommunity Spotlight: Aldwater – Player Run TownUpcoming EventsCommunity Resources – Players Helping PlayersJob Opening: VFX ArtistRecommended Projects to Back Ardoris Polish In Release 37, we are spending time on polishing the visuals for Ardoris and making them more distinct from the rest of the game. We had already given Ardoris a vaguely Asian theme but we wanted to push that further, so we purchased an Asian-themed asset pack from th
  22. Greetings All, We have updated TC1 based on the latest player feedback as of today 12/8/2016. These changes are currently active on TC1. These will not be deployed World Wide for quite some time and are subject to change. We wanted to give everyone interested a time to provide feedback, so head on over to TC1 and check them out! You can read all about the changes here. Don’t forget to send us your feedback here. See you in Britannia, UO Team View the full article
  23. Join us this Friday at 4pm CT for another Community of the Avatar livestream! We will be kicking off the livestream with a special guest, Matt Schmitz, Lead Animator on the team! He will be showing the community in 3DS Max how the animations for the Clockwork Monkey were designed. This special pet reward was one of the stretch goals the community obtained during the Summer Telethon, and will now be added to the game in Release 37! We will also be touring Aldwater, a PRT town which was recently spotlighted. Head on over to Aldwater before the livestream begins, if you want to meet us! Also, ple
  24. This latest community spotlight takes a new twist in covering the first Player RUN Town (PRT) of Aldwater! We are touring all kinds of towns and talking with guilds and other groups throughout this spotlight series, brought to you by Berek, your community wood elf druid. In Shroud of the Avatar, we have three primary types of towns: Player Owned Towns (POT) (where a player owns the town), Player Run Towns (we establish the town and some basic infrastructure, but the players ultimately manage the town’s functions), and standard NPC towns like Brittany, Owl’s Head, Soltown, etc. Up until this sp
  25. Greetings all, The Artisan Festival on Mugen will be fixed after the next maintenance cycle. Thank you for your patience while we get this issue corrected. UO Team View the full article
×
×
  • Create New...