Ultimate Online Forums
Go Back   Ultimate Online Forums > Ultima Online > Ultima Online General Discussion

Ultima Online General Discussion Forum for general chat on UO.

 
Thread Tools
Old 26th October 2007, 06:09 AM   #1
High Priestess
 
xanmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Shard: Chesepeake
Posts: 16
Gold: 1,058
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
xanmel is unknown
Has Anyone Else Received An Email Like This?

Ok...so I use Paypal a good bit and just renewed all my info at the beginning of this year....so you would think all of my info was up to date already.....however, I got an email that is supposedly from PayPal saying I need to update yet again...so I go to the link they give me and start going through the form....they wanted my social security number and pin number for my mac card!!!!!!!!
Not being the dumb***s they thought, I kept all that info to myself, however I kept the email to see if its a scam of some sort...and if it is actually from paypal I suppose I will not be using it anymore, as I think they want TMI.
xanmel is offline   Return to Top Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2007, 06:15 AM   #2
Administrator
 
Tabbitha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Shard: Europa/Snowbourn
Posts: 6,127
Gold: 73,394
Blog Entries: 6
Thanks: 254
Thanked 380 Times in 225 Posts
Tabbitha The EstimableTabbitha The EstimableTabbitha The EstimableTabbitha The EstimableTabbitha The EstimableTabbitha The EstimableTabbitha The EstimableTabbitha The EstimableTabbitha The EstimableTabbitha The EstimableTabbitha The Estimable

Awards Showcase
Community Spirit Award 
Total Awards: 1

Re: Has Anyone Else Received An Email Like This?

I definately dont beleive that is a genuine email from Paypal.

I dont have a Paypal account,but many people I know,do,and I have never known them asked for those specific details.

Divider




Tabbitha is offline   Return to Top Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2007, 06:32 AM   #3
Lead Administrator
 
Queen Mum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Shard: Sonoma
Posts: 3,096
Gold: 24,148
My Mood:
Blog Entries: 21
Thanks: 154
Thanked 342 Times in 136 Posts
Queen Mum the HonestQueen Mum the HonestQueen Mum the HonestQueen Mum the HonestQueen Mum the HonestQueen Mum the HonestQueen Mum the HonestQueen Mum the HonestQueen Mum the HonestQueen Mum the HonestQueen Mum the Honest

Awards Showcase
Community Spirit Award Heart of Gold Award 
Total Awards: 2

Re: Has Anyone Else Received An Email Like This?

Yep sounds just like one of the fake emails.

Forward it to spoof@paypal.com and they will let you know if it is or isn't legit.

I never click on any of those 'links' I just forward it to paypal and let them decide.
Queen Mum is offline   Return to Top Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2007, 06:54 AM   #4
Wearing metal panties in a lightning storm
 
Adri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Shard: Pacific/Landroval
Posts: 3,850
Gold: 1,613
My Mood:
Thanks: 211
Thanked 118 Times in 85 Posts
Adri The EstimableAdri The EstimableAdri The EstimableAdri The EstimableAdri The EstimableAdri The EstimableAdri The EstimableAdri The EstimableAdri The EstimableAdri The EstimableAdri The Estimable

Awards Showcase
Community Spirit Award 1st Place Winner 
Total Awards: 2

Re: Has Anyone Else Received An Email Like This?

I don't even have a paypal account, and I get those emails. Be careful.

Divider

We are all broken and wounded in this world. Some choose to grow strong at the broken places.
--Harold J. Duarte-Bernhardt

Adri is offline   Return to Top Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2007, 07:24 AM   #5
Madien of the Great Blue
 
RMS Carpathia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Shard: Absolutely playing no games
Posts: 2,045
Gold: 5,856
Thanks: 6
Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts
RMS Carpathia the HonestRMS Carpathia the HonestRMS Carpathia the HonestRMS Carpathia the HonestRMS Carpathia the HonestRMS Carpathia the HonestRMS Carpathia the HonestRMS Carpathia the HonestRMS Carpathia the HonestRMS Carpathia the HonestRMS Carpathia the Honest
Re: Has Anyone Else Received An Email Like This?

Defintally fake... as I was reading it... it smells fishy... I never open anything that I "don't know who it is from"

-RMS Carpathia-

Divider


-Back to the Future 2-
Marty McFly: There he is, Doc! Let's land on him, we'll cripple his car.
Doctor Emmett L. Brown: Marty, he's in a '46 Ford, we're in a DeLorean. He'd rip through us like we were tin foil.

-UOF Chatbox-
[21-11, 03:48] TMS Tasty Truffle Trifle Trout ---- holy truffles! O_O
RMS Carpathia is offline   Return to Top Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2007, 07:49 AM   #6
How do you tell when you run out of invisible ink?
 
kingtony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Shard: alantic
Posts: 2,648
Gold: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
kingtony the Honestkingtony the Honestkingtony the Honestkingtony the Honestkingtony the Honestkingtony the Honestkingtony the Honestkingtony the Honestkingtony the Honestkingtony the Honestkingtony the Honest
Re: Has Anyone Else Received An Email Like This?

100% fake

Divider

For to win one hundred victories in one hundred battles is not the acme of skill. To subdue the enemy without fighting is the acme of skill.
kingtony is offline   Return to Top Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2007, 01:53 PM   #7
Community Fansite OwnerNok
Publisher - GameXbar
 
Nok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Shard: Baja
Posts: 1,257
Gold: 16,595
Thanks: 723
Thanked 181 Times in 114 Posts
Nok The GreatNok The GreatNok The GreatNok The GreatNok The GreatNok The GreatNok The GreatNok The GreatNok The GreatNok The GreatNok The Great
Re: Has Anyone Else Received An Email Like This?

Hi Xanmel,

Quote:
Originally Posted by xanmel View Post
Ok...so I use Paypal a good bit and just renewed all my info at the beginning of this year....so you would think all of my info was up to date already.....however, I got an email that is supposedly from PayPal saying I need to update yet again...so I go to the link they give me and start going through the form....they wanted my social security number and pin number for my mac card!!!!!!!!
Not being the dumb***s they thought, I kept all that info to myself, however I kept the email to see if its a scam of some sort...and if it is actually from paypal I suppose I will not be using it anymore, as I think they want TMI.
Definitely a scam. This is what is called phishing. PayPal and any other legitimate e-commerce site will -NEVER- send you an email asking you to confirm your personal information. They may ask you to confirm your email address when you first set up your accounts... but that's it.

Also never use Gmail, Hotmail, Yahoo! Mail, etc. for e-commerce accounts. You don't have to do anything like click a link or open an email... identity thieves can now log directly into those mail servers and lookup anyone's account names and passwords for those email accounts, without any interaction from users at all.

Hope that helps.

Divider


GameXbar: DAoC - LOTRO - MMO - UO - WAR - WoW
Nok is offline   Return to Top Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have you ever been given some one or received Snugglebunny SlamBook 18 15th June 2007 08:29 AM
Received some great news! Ally Ally's Bubble 22 9th April 2007 07:11 PM
Latest Reputation Received RMS Carpathia Forum Support 3 5th April 2007 08:19 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0
Template-Modifications by TMS
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios