Ultimate Online Forums
Go Back   Ultimate Online Forums > Ultima Online > Ultima Online General Discussion

Ultima Online General Discussion Forum for general chat on UO.

 
Thread Tools
Old 29th November 2007, 01:37 PM   #1
Forum Legendkitiara
Polar Bear Queen
 
kitiara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Shard: Atlantic & Lake Austin
Posts: 4,031
Gold: 113
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
kitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimable
2o7.net when using UO registration site?

Hi all -

When I was editing some of my account information on the ultima-registration.com web site, I saw that the site was waiting for data to be transferred from the domain address 102.112.2o7.net. Since that's a suspicious looking domain name (made to look like an IP address), I looked it up. It is owned by a company called "Omniture" and their privacy policy indicates that they place cookies on behalf of their clients, who use them for "business optimization." (See: http://www.omniture.com/privacy/2o7)

Does anybody know who I can contact at EA to make sure that this is legit and not some scammer hijacking my session?

Does anybody else see data loading from that address when they use the UO registration site (you can see where data is loading from in the bottom left corner of your web browser)?

Yes, I'm a bit paranoid, but those who know me know why.

Thanks!

Divider


[UOCraft.com] - [Photography: Blog - Photo Gallery - Flickr] - [Other Blogs: Bird Blog -
Geek Blog]
kitiara is offline   Return to Top Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2007, 01:44 PM   #2
UOForums AdministratorAdam
Lead Administrator
Owner
 
Adam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1990
Posts: 6,090
Gold: 68,917
Thanks: 49
Thanked 574 Times in 189 Posts
Adam The EstimableAdam The EstimableAdam The EstimableAdam The EstimableAdam The EstimableAdam The EstimableAdam The EstimableAdam The EstimableAdam The EstimableAdam The EstimableAdam The Estimable
Re: 2o7.net when using UO registration site?

Hmm not me, I only see EA/UO related domains
I'm using Firefox to, but haven't noticed that domain in the status area.
Adam is offline   Return to Top Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2007, 02:39 PM   #3
abracadabra
Mindless Muse
 
abracadabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 437
Gold: 10,771
Thanks: 30
Thanked 34 Times in 25 Posts
abracadabra the Fairabracadabra the Fairabracadabra the Fairabracadabra the Fair
Re: 2o7.net when using UO registration site?

Ad-Aware catches 2o7.net spyware frequently for the last few years when i run it.

Divider


Avatar to left shows use for new threads. They help you teleport. Just a Mindless Muse meandering about!
abracadabra is offline   Return to Top Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2007, 03:35 PM   #4
Aurelius
 
Aurelius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 146
Gold: 8,704
Thanks: 4
Thanked 27 Times in 9 Posts
Aurelius is unknown
Re: 2o7.net when using UO registration site?

I suspect it's picking it up 'indirectly'.

You see the text at the bottom of the account management page, right most link is to 'Try AOL Free'? That page certainly uses Omniture.

Edit - Hah, it's actually not even that... if you look at the source for the EA account management page, you find :

"<!-- Start of Omniture tag: Please do not remove -->




<!-- SiteCatalyst code version: H.0.
Copyright 1997-2005 Omniture, Inc. More info available at http://www.omniture.com -->
<script language="javascript"><!--
/* Specify the Report Suite ID(s) to track here */
var s_account="eaeacom,eaplatformna,eaeabrandna,eaeaco mna"
var s_imageDisableFlag=0
//-->
</script>
<script language="JavaScript" src="/webcore/omniture/s_code_remote_v02.js"></script>
<script language="JavaScript">
<!--
/* You may give each page an identifying name, server, and channel on
the next lines. */
s_ea.pageName="NA::::NONE:MEMBERINFO"
s_ea.server=""
s_ea.channel=""
s_ea.pageType=""
s_ea.prop1="54395234"
s_ea.prop2="uo"
s_ea.prop3=""
s_ea.prop4=""
s_ea.prop5="platform"
s_ea.prop6=""
s_ea.prop7="EA : : my account : account : Member Info"
s_ea.prop8="Free"
s_ea.prop9=""
s_ea.prop10="Unset"
s_ea.prop11="NA"
s_ea.prop12="en_US"
s_ea.prop13="Unset"
s_ea.prop14="Unset"
s_ea.prop15="Unset"
s_ea.prop16="Unset : Unset : Unset : Unset"
s_ea.prop17=""
s_ea.prop18=""
s_ea.prop19=""
s_ea.prop20=""


Looks like EA are using Omniture to track people moving through their own website - not uncommon, a lot of companies collect data about how customers move through their pages.

Edit again ... And I ran a search on google for Omniture and Electronic Arts - first hit was a job vacancy at EA, part of the job description :

"Experience with Omniture (our Web Analytics tool) is a nice-to-have"

Nothing to worry about, but well spotted!

Last edited by Aurelius; 29th November 2007 at 03:41 PM.
Aurelius is offline   Return to Top Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2007, 10:00 PM   #5
Forum Legendkitiara
Polar Bear Queen
 
kitiara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Shard: Atlantic & Lake Austin
Posts: 4,031
Gold: 113
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
kitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimablekitiara The Estimable
Re: 2o7.net when using UO registration site?

Thanks for the research, Aurelius! I stumbled across that as I was leaving for work and went into full-on paranoia mode!

I use Firefox and I'm on a Mac with OS X Leopard, so I was thinking spyware wasn't the most likely explanation, but you never know!

Divider


[UOCraft.com] - [Photography: Blog - Photo Gallery - Flickr] - [Other Blogs: Bird Blog -
Geek Blog]
kitiara is offline   Return to Top Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Registration kayido Ultima Online General Discussion 9 5th February 2008 12:08 PM
PAS site Drakelord Sonoma 6 5th November 2007 08:33 PM
Do you like the new UO.com site? Adam Ultima Online General Discussion 30 6th March 2007 02:51 PM
EA Registration Impossible Sheelin Ultima Online General Discussion 4 12th December 2006 02:37 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0
Template-Modifications by TMS
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios